because i could not stop for death

 

Because I could not stop for Death ―
he kindly stopped for me ―
the Carriage held but just Ourselves ―
and Inmortality.

We slowly drove ― He knew no haste
and I put away
my labor and my leisure too,
for His Civility ―

We passed the School, where Children strove
at Recess ― in the Ring ―
we passed the Fields of Gazing Grain ―
we passed the Setting Sun ―

Or rather ― He passed Us ―
the Dews drew quivering and Chill ―
for only Gossamer, my Gown ―
my Tippet ― only Tulle ―

we paused before a House that seemed
a Swelling of the Ground ―
the Roof was scarcely visible ―
the Cornice ― in the Ground ―

since then ― ’tis Centuries ― and yet
feels shorter than the Day
I first surmised the Horses’ Heads
were toward Eternity ―

 

( Emily Dickinson )

 

 

